Falling In Love With Dogs

Do you love dogs? Or do you hate them? Are you a dog lover?

Well, I am. Right now I own a male English Staffordshire Bull Terrier and a female Doberman. I’ll tell you their story later. What I want to share today is a story of my very first dog ever.

I named him Chubby. He was a gift when I was a kid. We raised him well. I do not know about breeds and all about royalties of dogs then. He’s light brown and fury. That’s all I know. I grew fond of him for a long time I can’t remember how long that was. And then one day we were in town, my mom and I. We came home and you can just imagine the rage traced on my face when Chubby wasn’t there to greet us–me. I was in tears, nearly going insane. Barely eating,barely taking a bath, nothing but a numb face of a kid who cannot enjoy playing outside anymore. After a week when I was a bit calm, my mom told me that he was stolen. And I swore that I’d look for his captor and I will make him pay. Yes, those were my very thoughts when I was 7 or 8 years old (I can’t really remember my age, I have to ask mom for that). One day, not very long after that day, I was with mom buying a sofa set. We were waiting for some papers and I was roaming around the shop. Before we left,mom whispered in my ear, “he’s the one who got Chubby” and I looked back. I did not see his face well. I can only recall his thin body, a beard, and a hat. I cried again. Silently this time. Why? Because I was helpless. Because I did not do anything. Because I could not do anything at all. Because I was a little child with no super powers.

One day, not very long after that day, I was with mom buying a sofa set. We were waiting for some papers and I was roaming around the shop. Before we left,mom whispered in my ear, “he’s the one who got Chubby” and I looked back. I did not see his face well. I can only recall his thin body, a beard, and a hat. I cried again. Silently this time. Why? Because I was helpless. Because I did not do anything. Because I could not do anything at all. Because I was a little child with no super powers.

Months came, years even. Some neighbor gave me a dog. I know it’s a street dog or stray dog or whatever you call a dog who doesn’t have a brand/breed/royalties. I could not love it like I loved Chubby. I could not treat him like how I treated my lion-like friend before. But my dog-lover soul can’t help loving dogs you know. So I loved it like I love dogs. I grew fond of it and the streets took it away from me. Since then I did not want to have any pets any longer. But I went to high school and I got another dog who I named after a Korean novella actor(Paolo Jung) from “Memories of Bali“. I had a great time with him until he got aggressive and bit my sister’s foot. We had to send him away to the ones who “knows” what “to do” with aggressive dogs and I don’t want to know about it.

And then here comes a blessing. JC and Ava, Staffordshire and Doberman. Given to me by a prospect/client/friend/who loves to read and write like me. And mind you, he is 65 years of age, male, American from Paris who is now residing in the Philippines. Wow. After two months of knowing each other, me selling vitamins, and he with his wife gives me two lovely dogs to adopt. For what reason? They cannot bring the dogs with where they are headed to. And they trust that I will take care of their dogs (and I am! :D). I am speechless. To own dogs worth almost a hundred thousand Philippine Peso. I amspeechless. To have my very first dog royalties! I am speechless. And I am thankful. I am grateful to God and to my American friend for giving me JC and Ava. And now I have to live thinking of my kids and dogs’ well-being.

So it is a bit dramatic here. But I shall return with my question. Do you love dogs? How well do you know yourself when it comes to falling in love with dogs? How much do you love dogs? I’d love to know.

6 thoughts on “Falling In Love With Dogs

      1. Haha I was always scared to get bitten. Silly huh? Now I’m not afraid…. I can handle a full grown Dobe and have survived his teeth through puppy teething and his rebellious teenage stage! I do get nervous around bigger and stereotypically aggressive/vicious dogs if they start growling but otherwise I’m fine now!

        Like

      2. that isn’t silly. 🙂 that’s so nice that you’ve learned to love dogs. by the way, what do you feed your Dobe? And how much do you feed him a day? I’m still new to all this, so..Hehe.

        Like

Leave a Reply

