Diverse Part 2

image

Let’s say…
Scale Modeling.
I tried a gundam from the caravan at Toy Kingdom. I liked it. I enjoyed it. I never knew that I would be so into the work that I wanted to finish the details and all. Inside me, it is a…WOW! I am in love.

And then comes the event. The Twelfth IPMS Baguio Invitationals “Edge of Time”. A little bit of roaming around the glass containers where all the little things reside. Gundams, Zoids, Battle Ships, Aircraft…Planes and tanks and all military stuff. Sinking it all in is overwhelming, let alone observing the tini-tiny details of each piece. Oh wow. This is the real thing.

I approached a guy on the 1st day. Asked him what IPMS is. I just have to know what it means. I cannot just go barging in like some V.I.P. who wants to be “in” with my p.js. hahaha! So i went home and researched a bit.

IPMS~ International Plastic Modelers Society

Started in UK since 1963. That is all I need to know. I have to be in the field to get the feels. So I came back the next day. I was early and saw a guy, alone at the stage, tinkering a plane. I watched, asked a few questions, and voila I am in love with IPMS. Signed a form, paid my first annual fee, and observed and learned from the man I was watching. I was in awe. Pure bliss. In the moment. I could not keep my eyes from the plane and the details. Stayed there for seven hours and learned a lot. At the end of the day, that is the only time I figured he was the Vise President of IPMS Baguio!

I wasn’t there the next day. We had a trip to Lepanto, Mankayan, Benguet. Roundtrip so that was nice. The next day I was early again. This time he was finished with the plane and an Iron Man figure in combat version, and is now on with a chopper. But another man was going to tinker a tank so I have to observe others too. I went at his table to observe. I have to learn everything I can before starting on my own.

It was a lot to take in. But it was worth all the space I have in my brain.

Observe. Observe. Observe. The details. The way they hold their tools. They way they stroke their brushes. The way they talk. The way they manage things. The way they start their modeling kits. They way they show how and what they do. All of it, all of the details and things you cab learn from them…it is all craft, unique to each and everyone of them, different from one another. One modeler is a whole new package, a whole new adventure.

On the last day of the event, the president gave me a Lockheed Martin F16CJ, Block 50, Fighting Falcon. My very first modeling kit. My very first project. I am so excited I cannot help myself from jumping like a rabbit. And then I realized I was in public. Oops. Childish act alert! Haha. So I went to buy my first tools that day. Not yet complete but at least I started to purchase what I need.

image

In this hobby, you need a lot of character. Me? I just need focus and determination. I have so many inspiration in starting such hobby and although people are telling me that I might get bored, I might get exhausted and tired and weary, burnt out and everything. I am up for the challenge. I am challenging myself that I won’t be the one to get burnt out along the way.

5 thoughts on “Diverse Part 2

  1. Pingback: South – Her Snippets

Leave a Reply

